Girls On The Run – Coaches, Assistants, Volunteers & Runners Wanted!

I can’t promise you’ll get treats like these cupcakes, but you never know – thinking of making Girls On The Run cakepops next time!

Like to run? Like to help young girls develop self esteem and confidence? If so, Girls on The Run may be for you! Last year, I was looking for a way to give back to the running community. I ended up volunteering for Girls On The Run. I helped day of the event and beforehand, getting them some press. Flash forward, and I am now on the board. 🙂 I have never been on a board before. It has been interesting to see how one functions. My main role is helping with public relations, but I am there to assist in other ways as well.

The GOTR board accepting a donation from the United Way as part of ROC The Day, a one day online donation event this past December.

So, what is Girls on the Run? It is a 10 week “youth development program which combines an interactive curriculum and running to inspire self-respect and healthy lifestyles in pre-teen girls, grades 3-8.” Locally, this is the 3rd year of the program. Training takes place before and after school with the final “graduation” being a 5k in June. The public can run as well. It was a lot of fun last year. The girls were able to get their hair sprayed in different colors beforehand, they got tshirts, hair accessories and other goodies, plus a really nice post race snack/meal, wrapped in pink & green, our signature colors. This year’s event will be at MCC.

If you want to get involved, you can! You do not have to be a runner! You can help at the 5k (held in June), assist beforehand, or, if you have some running experience, can be a coach. We are also always looking for people who have connections to the media (TV, radio, newspaper) so we can promote the event. Sponsors and donations are always appreciated too! If you want to be a coach, training is coming up soon – Saturday, February 11, 2012, from 12 pm to 4:30 pm at the Webster Community Library. Spring 2012 Registration for the girls 0pens February 20th. Schools participating include Webster, some city schools and many more (check the website below for details).

Some pics from last year. Too busy helping to have more – that is why we need YOU!

I know that if I had a program like this growing up, it would have made a big difference in my life. I was a couch potato who never even broke a sweat in gym class.  I have found that helping young girls gain confidence at a vulnerable age is very rewarding! I hope you will help or spread the word if you can. 🙂

You can send me a message if you want more information, or go to their webpage: http://gotrrochester.org/.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Girls On The Run – Coaches, Assistants, Volunteers & Runners Wanted!

  1. heather c says:

    I should do this at the school where I teach part time! More info, please!

  2. DrRachelRuns says:

    I would love to start a GOTR here in CT, but I seem to be the only one who thinks so. It’s a great program. I hope that you get some excellent volunteers.

Leave a Reply

