Kettlebell DVD Workout Review, Plus My 1st Giveaway!

Looking for a cross training workout? The kind folks at Empower Fitness sent me a workout DVD to try – Gin Miller’s Kettlebell Calorie Burner Workout. I already have one of their DVD’s – Boxing Bootcamp. I like that one a lot, and may do a review of it another time. 5lbKettleballThe Kettlebell arrived nicely boxed with the DVD. Before it arrived, they had asked what weight kettlebell I would like. I chose the 5 lb. kettlebell. Kettlebells are also available from them in 8 and 10 lb weights. In retrospect, I should have chosen a higher weight.

The entire DVD runs less than an hour. Gin Miller is the instructor. I have done Gin Miller’s workouts before. She is known for creating the Step Workout. Remember Step? I used to be VERY good at doing it. I am not a dancer, but I can follow patterns. Knowing that Gin was leading the DVD, I knew the instruction would be clear and easy to follow and it was. SAM_5578

Gin looks even trimmer and thinner now. Wow, she has aged well. Clearly, exercising a lot is a part of the reason. I used to like the fact that Gin was not a “skinny minny” but a more solid person, so in a way I was a little bummed she is now so svelte. Granted, that is where I want to be as well, so I should take that as a good sign.
SAM_5580

The DVD is broken into 5 parts – a warmup, 3 different workout sections and a cool down. Gin is the only one doing the workout. She is excellent at showing proper form for each move. She shows the moves from the front and then the side. Sometimes, there is a split screen as well as three screens, showing the moves from different angles.

I had never used a kettlebell before, so I really had nothing to compare it to. The warmup was fine, standard moves to get you ready for the workout to come. In Workout 1, you swing, throw, squat and go side to side with the kettlebell. In Workout 2, she introduces patterns where you lift your leg and pass the kettlebell from one side to the other underneath your leg. I liked Workout 2 the best of the three. In Workout 3, you do lunges, figure 8’s and squat moves with the kettlebell.
SAM_5571The DVD ends with cool down stretches and breathing exercises. The first workout section is the shortest – less than 10 minutes and the others are less than 15 minutes each.

SAM_5590

Post workout

Pros: Gin is very encouraging and the moves are easy to follow. It is a good introduction to a kettlebell workout.
Cons: I would have liked to have seen other people in the DVD, not just Gin doing the workout. I barely worked up a sweat. I blame this on not using a heavier kettlebell. So, if you want a better workout, get the heavier kettlebell.

Overall, I would rate this DVD a 3 out of 5 and intended for the beginner exerciser, although with a heavier kettlebell, it could be modified to be for an intermediate exerciser.

I would probably not do this DVD more than once a week, as it just is not enough of a workout for me. And, let’s keep in mind, that I am quite overweight at this point. I do have good cardio capacity  tho and am able to complete harder workouts like Jillian Michaels Shred. I might combine the Kettlebell DVD with a more cardio intensive workout – maybe do the elliptical first for half an hour. Honestly though, I like Empower’s Boxing Bootcamp better. But, if you are looking for variety, give this one a try.
SAM_5575

My next DVD to try is Step 360 by Gaiam. The only DVD I will never do again is Insanity. I seriously injured my neck (C5 hernieted disc) doing that one. If you do attempt those DVDs, be careful and modify them – don’t go hardcore like I did and hurt yourself or you’ll be down for the count.

SAM_5596

WIn One Of These!

What about you – what crosstraining do you do? Let me know in a comment below. I will pick 2 people to win a Cooling Visor. This is my very first giveaway – how exciting! 🙂
These special caps are supposed to keep you cool when you work out. I have a pink and a blue one to give away. The drawing will be Feb 14th, so leave your comment today!

This entry was posted in Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kettlebell DVD Workout Review, Plus My 1st Giveaway!

  1. Jeanne says:

    I don’t do enough cross training. Going to start the treadmill and adding some of the 90 minute workout. But just some of it like the sit-ups push ups and stretching until I can work up an aerobic capacity. Starting slow but at least I’m starting!

  2. Jill Behr Medved says:

    This review is very timely for me. I actually took my very first kettlebells class at a local facility last week, after contemplating it for over a year! My experience was quite different from yours though. I found the workout to be very challenging, especially coordinating the lunges, squats and presses with my 10 and 15 lb kettlebells. I was super sore for the rest of the week and wasn’t sure that it was for me. I also had difficulty seeing and hearing the instructor, being in the back of a large gym. Thus the benefit of having an instructional DVD….you can rewind and watch the more difficult moves multiple times and at your own pace. Something to consider. In the meantime, maybe I’ll give the class another try, but get there early enough to be close enough to the instructor for better viewing/heanring. Also, maybe “practice makes perfect”. Thanks for this review :-).
    -Jill

  3. Danielle K says:

    I actually haven’t really done much cross training before. I run all of the time, but that’s about it…I need to spice up my workouts a bit.

  4. Sharon says:

    I am very excited to start working out right away. The kettlebell will be the motivation I have been looking for. I can do it anywhere in the house which makes it very easy to stay on track. I have been sitting all day at work and sitting when I get home too. I need to move something, anything. I don’t want to wait until May and find out it is too late to trim down for the summer again. My weight loss is at a standstill and this will get things going again.

  5. Stacey B. says:

    I haven’t tried the kettlebells myself but I know it is really popular at the JCC. Everyone looks pretty tired when they get done. Maybe I should try it after zumba.

  6. Scott C. says:

    I have been wanting to try the kettlebell. Thanks for the heads up about the heavier weight. I’m looking forward to adding it to my routine.

  7. Kathy Serio says:

    I am rebeginning my workout program so this sounds like it would be a great workout. I am looking forward to giving it a try.

Leave a Reply

