Run Peeps Run! (And A Healthy Treat Recipe Too)

My running Easter peep creation.

My running Easter peep creation

First of all, Happy Easter, Passover & Spring to all. I couldn’t help it – I just had to create a running peep. A little sugar can’t be all bad, right? Ironically, I am trying to detox from sugar. In my quest to do that, I found a recipe for oatmeal cookies made with just oatmeal and mashed overripe bananas. I made them for the first time last night. They were pretty good!

No Sugar Cookies - before baking. One batch yields 16 cookies.

No Sugar Cookies – before baking. One batch yields 16 cookies.

They are around 33 calories each. The nice thing about these is that you could add raisins, cranberries, coconut, peanut butter, choc chips, etc. if you find them too bland. For the complete, super easy recipe, go HERE.

The only 2 ingredients you need!

The only 2 ingredients you need!

How is everyone’s running going? The weather has been up and down, but I was able to run outside the last 2 days – a 5k a day. Super slow tho. I now “run” as fast as some people walk. Thank goodness the first 5k of the season is an untimed, just for fun one.

I have been getting a lot of visits on my Color Run and Color Vibe posts, so that has been exciting. I’m reading good and bad things about the Color Rad, so we’ll see how that one turns out. I felt bad for the people who had a horrible experience at the Neon Run in Phoenix. I hate to hear about the dark side of these theme races. Greedy race directors just in it for the money can really take advantage of folks. It’s a shame, since these events are less intimidating and a great way to introduce newbies to 5ks.

Photo I took from last year's race

Photo I took from last year’s race

Last but not least, the article about Girls on the Run I pitched and helped coordinate is up and they used my photo from last year’s race! Uncredited, but that’s ok. Race day for that race is June 1st.

I am still heavier than ever and really embarrassed, but I will keep trying. My next post will be an actual race review from my first race of the season. See you on the roads!

This entry was posted in Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Run Peeps Run! (And A Healthy Treat Recipe Too)

  1. Amanda B says:

    Hahaha, I love the runner Peep. Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

