My New T-Shirt Bag!

gotrbag

Photo courtesy of Cassandra Donovann. Click to see bigger and in detail.

My ever-growing collection of race t-shirts has been made into quilts (see posts here  & here) and a really cool scarf. What to have made next? Fortunately for me, I stumbled on this talented artist.  She makes t-shirt bags from Girls on the Run t-shirts and donates $5 from each shirt to this very worthwhile organization. What a great idea – I’m in!

When I learned I could get a bag made from my Girls on the Run shirt, I was very excited. I sent Cassandra my blue GOTR shirt and my shirt from The Color Run race. It turned out to be a great combination. She even used part of the shirt to make a pocket inside. I love it! The inside fabric has polka dots – so cute. It is very well made and reasonably priced. I also love that it’s a different way to showcase your races. If you want to order your own bag or learn more about them, visit Cassandra’s website/blog. I still have more shirts to turn into fun items, I’m just not sure what those will be yet.

gotr

Photo I took at the June, 2012 Girls on the Run 5k event in Rochester, NY. Their next race is this Saturday, June 1st. 2013 at 6 pm at Monroe Community College. It’s open to the public to run or watch! Race details: http://gotrrochester.org/

So, what is Girls on the Run? It’s a not for profit, nationwide program that teaches young girls self esteem, life lessons and how to run a 5k. I have been involved with the Rochester, NY chapter  since 2011. It is a great way to give back, even if you aren’t a runner. They are always on the lookout for volunteers, coaches and sponsors. For more details about this great program, visit here: http://www.girlsontherun.org/

quilt1

This represents 40 races I have run. Click to enlarge.

 

 

 

As for actual running, I’ve been slacking a bit, but am thinking of doing a running streak challenge. I missed the start of the Runner’s World one from Memorial Day to July 4th, so I may just create my own. I’ve never run at least a mile a day – I usually do more mileage in fewer days and then mix it up with cross training. We’ll see….

herkimer-race-quilt

Smaller quilt representing 9 races.

scarf

This represents 5 races.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the meantime, stay cool out there, enjoy your Summer and thanks for reading!

P.S. If you like my blog, follow me on Twitter for more musings about running, random thoughts and more.

This entry was posted in Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

