I Did It! Runner’s World Running Streak, Summer Style

badgeI’ve been a runner for about 7 years now, but never on a daily basis. I usually switch it up with cross training. When I saw the Memorial Day to Independence Day 39 day running streak, I decided to give it a try. In the interest of true disclosure, I have to say that I did not start the running streak til June 1st- but I did extend it to make for the full 39 days, so yes- you can bet your sweet Bippy I am claiming my badge! 🙂

As I have mentioned in previous posts, I’ve gained a lot of weight over the past 2 years, so for me to run daily was a challenge. That last statement was a big understatement!

canalpath

One of my running routes- a scenic path by the Erie Canal. I alternate directions.

Ok, back to the challenge:  The rules were that you had to run at least one mile a day. I decided to do 1 mile on the treadmill running and then add in half hour on my elliptical for cardio on days when I was inside and then run a 5k (3.1 miles) outdoors on the other days.

Honestly, I found the 1 mile treadmill run harder than the outdoor runs. The belt on my treadmill is off, so it made it more challenging. And, on the first day – the treadmill blew a fuse. I did not let that deter me tho. I tripped the switch and kept going (as well as learned that I cannot have a dehumidifier, treadmill and TV hooked up to the same outlet). Don’t get me wrong, I was not embracing the outdoor runs either, especially the comments I would get on the canal path – such as:  “Keep going, I used to look like you” – said by a trim racewalker who passed me. She meant well… sigh.

After doing this challenge, I learned two things:

1) I never want to do one again, or at least for a long time

RWRUNSTREAKBADGE

My badge!!

2) I have a ton of respect for people who have kept up running streaks for years and even decades.

Overall, I am proud of myself. I do feel stronger and more in control. Not necessarily faster- at this weight, a slow jog is the best I can hope for. I’m still trying to overcome the shame/self consciousness of that, compared to how much faster I used to be. That being said, I ran every day – in humid, muggy weather – in wind – in driving rain and being the heaviest I have ever run (and the slowest). For the first 33 days, it really helped me stay on track with my food. I ate between 1300-1400 calories a day and lost almost 12 pounds. Then, the July 4th holiday hit – enter a get together at my brother’s cottage, yummy food, and a faltering motivation/willpower level. So disappointed with myself!! But, I have to get back on the horse and keep going.

Outside runs are highlighted

Post challenge, I don’t plan to run every day, but I will try very hard to exercise every day. I also started a Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) fruit/veggie share, so I have been eating lots of organic, fresh produce and trying new healthy recipes. The most important thing for me is to get a handle on my diet. I will never be a faster runner until I can shed this weight. Healthy, slim bodies are made in the kitchen and then refined in the gym. I read a statement similar to that – and I know it is true.

I do recommend a running challenge for those of you who have never tried it. It’s something new and different and may get you out of a rut. I would love to hear how long your longest running streak has been. And a big CONGRATS to all of you who completed this running streak. Post that badge proudly!
finished!

Stats:
39 days of running 1 or 3.1 miles a day
Total distance covered: 72.54 miles total
June 1st – July 9th, 2013

Until next time, see you on the roads!

This entry was posted in Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Did It! Runner’s World Running Streak, Summer Style

  1. Dawn says:

    OMG! I’m sorry I am late to this post…what an accomplishment! YOU GO! That is just so cool. I am just like you, gained a lot of weight, having a hard time getting back out there to run because I will never be as fast as I once was, not that that was all that fast in the first place. You SHOULD be so proud of yourself!!! Agree…we have to figure out the diet. Well. Not figure it out, I KNOW how I should eat…it’s the not falling off the wagon part for me….you are inspirational!

  2. Dawn says:

    Did 6 today. Run/walk. will probably blog about it tomorrow….

Leave a Reply

