Back At It – Brighton Chamber of Commerce & Glen Iris 5k

Greetings! I haven’t written for this blog for a few years. Why? Well, I gained a ton of weight and wasn’t able to run. I recommitted to getting the weight off on January 1st. I was able to start running again in June of this year. So far, I’ve run two race since that time. It’s good to be back, although I’m still building up my speed as I continue to lose weight.

brighton5kBrighton Chamber of Commerce 5k
The first race I did this year was the Brighton 5k on July 4th. I’ve done this race before – at a much lower weight. However, my goal this time was just to finish without walking or stopping. Thankfully, I was able to run the whole time. It was a struggle, but I did it. Ever since then, I’ve been running daily – almost 2 miles at lunch and 2 at night.
Course – flat – around neighborhoods, Start & Finish at Brighton high school. Cotton tshirt w/entry. Post race food – bagels, watermelon and bananas.
Results: (so slow, but it is what it is): 37:47 (12:11 min/mile), 418 out of 523 people, 19 out of 26 in age group (female, 45-49), Weather conditions – warm (80?) and sunny. Starting time: 8:00 am.

glenirislogoGlen Iris 5k
This race appealed to me because it starts and finishes at Letchworth State Park. Being a waterfall aficionado and nature lover, this was a big bonus! Not only that, your entry included a tshirt and boxed lunch from the Glen Iris Inn. The race benefits a library.
Course –  starts at Trout Pond and “proceeds along the park road adjacent to the Genesee River Gorge, before turning into a wooded back road leading to the finish line at Trailside Lodge.” They said this was a flat course, but I would slightly disagree. It was mostly flat with some downhill parts and slightly rolling uphill parts.

Results: 36:15 (11:41 min/mile). I don’t have overall or age group, as those aren’t online yet – will add when they are. Weather conditions – Muggy, high 70s, maybe 80, slight breeze at times. Starting time: 10:00 am.
I was also nervous for this race because:
1) Not as many people run it as did the Brighton 5k, and the odds of me finishing closer to the back of the pack were much higher.
2) The warm/humid weather conditions were not my ideal. At the same time, I kept telling myself to do the best I could, keep going and remember, I am 20 lbs. lighter than I was at the Brighton race 2 months ago.

I was hoping to improve my race time a lot, but the mugginess definitely got to me, and I still have weight to lose. Running is hard when you’re heavy! Even so, this was a nice race – friendly people, cool age group prizes (local pottery – bowls and mugs) and I won natural peanut butter (from a local company).

Future Races/Status
This race was my 75th race since I started running! However, I don’t plan to do dozens of races like I did in the past. I get too stressed out and the cost adds up. That being said, I do plan to continue running and losing this weight. A new rule for me at races is also to control myself with the post race food – no junk and eating back the calories I just burned! Although I will say that the boxed lunch was delicious and I scarfed it down. Due to that, I have to have a tiny dinner (sigh…).

So, how about you? How is your racing season going? Hopefully, your running and fitness efforts and goals are going well this year. Thank you for reading this and supporting my blog and journey back to health. 🙂 #fitby50 #keepgoing

This entry was posted in Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

