Race Review: Monster Scramble 5k, Rochester, NY, Sunday, Oct. 23, 2016

tshirt

“A Wicked Run That’s Wicked Fun” T-shirt from race

I like to run races near Halloween because they’re so festive. It can be tricky to run in costume, but that never stops me.I’ve heard of this race, but never participated until now.The Monster Scramble is a 5k and 10k race that benefits the National MS (Multiple Sclerosis) Society Upstate New York Chapter. Runners could win prizes for their age group, costume or meeting fundraising goals.

In the past, I’ve run Escape from Fright Nights in Syracuse (running from zombies), a Halloween 5k around Green lake in Fayetteville, the Run Like Hell Race in Rochester, Pumpkins in the Park  near Cobbs Hill and a few others. Previous costumes included a Runaway bride (won a prize!), 50s sock hop girl and nurse. I was eager to try a new race and costume!

The race itself was held at Mount Hope Cemetery, adding to the spooky theme. They also offered a one mile walk for families (and their little ones) where they could trick or treat along the way.

The weather has been mild lately, so much so that I’ve been able to ditch the dreadmill and actually run outside in preparation for this run. The morning of the race was in the 40s, mostly cloudy and windy. They had a shuttle you could take to the race, but fortunately for me, my friend works near there, so we parked in a parking garage and walked over. In retrospect, I should have worn long sleeves. Thankfully, I had my hand warmers. Conditions like this cause my hands to get a Raynauds attack, but I was careful and kept my extremities as warm as possible.

For this race, I opted to be a “Lucky” Ladybug, mainly because I got the costume on clearance. It was a size too small, so I had to be creative and buy a tutu and modify it (to be less puffy) as well as sew trim around it (and the sleeves of my tshirt). I’m not much of a seamstress, so I was just hoping it would make it through the race.

img_0476

This race not only appealed to me because it was a costume run, but also because you received a tshirt and a finisher’s medal! Normally you have to run much longer distances to get a medal. Yes, I’m all about the swag.

special-logoI’ve never run in the cemetery, and I had heard it was hilly. I’m NOT a fan of running hills. This course definitely had it’s share of uphills. It was uphill in the beginning, and that was tough. I lost some time due to the hills for sure, and the throng of people at the start. There was also cobblestone in some parts, which was a little tricky. The ending was downhill, which was a relief, although there was an uphill part before that. I know hills are good for me, but I dislike them. It was nice to see the cemetery grounds though, and all the costumes. Near the ending, the course veered off for all the people doing the 10k route.

At the end, they had water, bagels, fruit and candy. There were also tables set up with other freebies like water bottles, lip balm, first aid kits. It was a nice family friendly event, and a great cause.

I’m still not a fan of hills, but I was happy with how I did. Ive been able to run each race this year faster than the one before. Continuing to lose weight (one slow pound at a time) helps and makes a difference. I’m not sure when my next race will be. I might do one in December, because I have an ugly Christmas sweater, but it all depends on my weather and mood. I will continue to run inside and outside whenever I can. I currently run twice a day – over 4 miles – split in 2 parts. 

Race day weather: 40s, windy, cloudy – peeks of sun. It had rained the previous 2 days before, but course was pretty dry – lots of leaves.
Course: Paved with cobblestone in parts. Uphill and downhill sections. No mile markers. One water stop.
Time: 10:00 a.m. start
Location: Mount Hope Cemetery, Rochester, NY
Results: 34.30 (11.07 minute mile), Overall: 164 out of 319, 21 out of 49 in my age/gender range.

Hope your exercise efforts are going well this fall. Thanks for reading! 

This entry was posted in Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

